Weird Dreams

Obviously, there’s the whole notion of “dream logic.”
This bugs me.
I know things that occur in a dream don’t often make sense in the real world, but I still like to figure out just what’s going on, you know? Especially when most of the dream looks like it could work for a story, or even if it’s just a case of wishful thinking.
(See the Torchwood example on my You Know You Need a Job When post for an example of both.)

And speaking of a dream working as a story, the other thing that bugs me, the real reason I put up this post:
When I have a weird dream, like I did last night, that looks like it could make for an interesting story, say, as a fanfic for a favorite movie… except that the bulk of that dream happened to involve Bad Things happening to real living people… happening to the actors rather than to the characters.
Let’s just say, if I ever make a story out of this one, I’ll be spamming the whole “names have been changed to protect the innocent” variety of disclaimer, or something along those lines. Okay, the “resemblance is coincidental” disclaimer would sound a lot better, since “names are changed” tends to imply real events… but I would know, in my heart, that the resemblances are most definitely not coincidental.
The fact that the “story” is based on a dream ought to be disclaimer enough, but I respect these people far too much to write about them the way this dream happened, no matter how much it could work as a story. Something needs to be changed before I even think about publishing or posting, and “character” names are right at the top of that list.

On the other hand, it might work as an original fiction if I change the “characters” themselves. Maybe swap them out with some of my recurring characters…. Hmm….
Then I could use a disclaimer like “the following events are based on a dream, any resemblance to real people” etc.
Thoughts?

This entry was posted in Dreams, Perplexed About and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

