NaNo ’12 Day 12

Tutoring, trying to continue that likely excerpt, tutoring again, and trying to work some more on that excerpt.

And somewhere along the lines, I forgot to divide sections in the document from day 11 to day 12.
Still, I think the dividing point was about when the Doctor disappeared (he was transmatted away) and left his companion behind by accident. I.e., when I switched from his point of view to hers.

I’m going to keep on writing that section until she comes up with a plan to rescue herself, and then decide how much and/or which parts of the scene I want to use as an excerpt.
Maybe write into the part where the rescue happens….

Anyway, progress:

Day’s goal: as always, 1,667 words.
Daily written: 1745
Total goal: 20000
Total written: 20004
Report Card: At this rate, you will finish on Nov 30.

And a 1666 daily average would let me finish on time.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo ’12 Day 12

  1. orestgtd says:

    I’m using a separate document for each day’s writing, each named after the day of the month. That helps me keep track of what days I’ve been writing and which days I’ve missed. That and a tracking spreadsheet that I’ve set up.

    I like your approach, to keep writing that section until “she comes up with a plan”… Sometimes I get stuck in a particular section. When I do, I will sometimes do a stream of consciousness dump of all my ideas down on the page, and all the reasons it won’t work. Sometimes that helps me find a way through.

    Great report card! You’re on track to finish right on time!

    Like

    • Thanks!
      I’m keeping them divided into sections from one day to the next, simply because I don’t want to bother combining all of the documents once it’s time to validate at the end of the month, but given how many section breaks I’ve come up with (especially when notes are involved ^^;) I kind of wonder if different documents would be easier to organize.

      I hate doing stream of consciousness in these things, but sometimes, I can’t focus on a particular scene for anything more than a general “this is what’s supposed to happen”. Bleh.
      But I have come up with theories in the process that I didn’t consider before; I think that’s where my prologue came from, was a stream of consciousness regarding another scene.
      Truthfully, though, the only reason I plan to continue this section is for the possible excerpt; otherwise, I’d be back into one of the other plot bunnies. As I mentioned in one of the other posts, the NaNo was SUPPOSED to be written in the order the Doctor experiences it, and this scene is quite out of order. ;p Heck, it isn’t even the same Doctor!

      Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

