NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 0

This makes my third year participating in the National Novel Writing Month, an international community event encouraging writers to sit down and get writing, already!
For those who haven’t looked into it that much, NaNoWriMo is a “competition” of sorts, in which you can (if you so choose) take part in word wars against fellow NaNoers, or track your progress and your region’s progress and compete against other writers all month long.

But ultimately, you are competing against yourself.
For you see, the “winner” is not the one who writes the most words, and the “loser” is not whomever writes the least. We can all set our own goals, and it is up to us to meet them, regardless of what other people are doing.
But if you participate in NaNoWriMo, you have an extra goal they set–namely, 50,000 words during the month of November. If you make that goal, you get the satisfaction of having written a 50,000 plus word novel. You get bragging rights and badges to post on your website. But sometimes you also get rewards in the form of discounts on writing software, or free print copies of your novel via CreateSpace.

Fellow returning NaNoers, I’m going to be doing my novel a bit differently this year.
See, I’d come up with this Doctor Who plot a while back that I intended to use for my NaNo.
While resisting the urge to work on that plot prematurely, I began instead working on assorted other Doctor Who plots that found their way through my skull.

The problem is that those other plots have not been completed, and they refuse to let me go.
My solution is that I will rebel this year. Just a little.
I intend to create a single document for word count tracking, and any writing I manage during November, on any of these stories, will go first in there and then into their relevant story.
My synopsis (and eventual excerpt) found on my profile comes strictly from the plot I’d originally planned for NaNo. That is, from the original version of that plot; I already have changes I’d like to make, some of which stem from certain hidden connections among the various stories.

Wish me luck! With new students to tutor, new after-school events to help out at, and the eternal search for a steady pay-check, I’ll need all the luck I can get.
And good luck to all who choose to participate.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

