NaNo ’11 Day 26

I’m not exactly sure why I didn’t update this right away, but…I won! Woohoo!

I didn’t pay much attention to my word count on the initial draft (and I’ve already started cutting things out), but NaNo’s validation marks me at 50,436 words. I think MS Word said 50,440.

Of course, once I performed surgery on the file and transplanted all notes (including those I came up with during NaNo, like the various culturally-influenced swear words my characters use) and flashbacks (which I aim to make short stories out of) to other files, it dropped to around 30,000 words.

And the story is far from complete. The main character still needs to escape the demon summoner, get back to what’s left of his crew, and get the entire group involved in the demon war.
And then the epilogue.
And I’ve got to get the whole thing edited into a reasonable form in time to use the CreateSpace winner’s code; they offer five free proof copies this year, and I’m already thinking about who I want to give them to.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

